The Team

mountainairs team basketball 2018 72
basketball silhouette 4

About Us

Taranaki Augusta Mountainairs are a New Zealand professional basketball team that compete in the National Basketball League (NBL). They have previously been known as the New Plymouth Bulls (1986–93), the Taranaki Bears (1994–98), the Taranaki Oilers (1999) and the Devon Dynamos Taranaki (2008–09).

They play their home games at TSB Stadium in New Plymouth, Taranaki. Due to a lack of funding they did not compete in the New Zealand NBL from 2000–2002. After having been absent from the national competition for three seasons, there was a need to redevelop the local talent.

In 2003, the Taranaki Basketball campaigned to launch a team in the NBL. A rejuvenated pool of talented players came together, a team was selected and the vision became a reality. With tremendous public and media support, the Taranaki Mountainairs had an outstanding reintroduction into New Zealand basketball’s major stage.

Their best results in the NBL were third place in 1988, 1991 and 1992. Player Willie Banks was named NBL MVP in 2004.

There are eight teams in the National Basketball League this season:

  • Wellington Saints
  • Southland Sharks
  • Waitakere Rangers
  • Canterbury Rams
  • Nelson Giants
  • Augusta Taranaki Mountainairs
  • Hawkes Bay Hawks
  • Manawatu Jets

The season runs from late- April until early August with each team playing 18 games — nine home and nine away.

Trent Adam, returns as Head Coach this year, with David Bublitz again in the assistant coach role.

With the league changing the rules for the 2018 season the teams are now able to have three imports.

Meet the Augusta Mountainairs for 2019.

Team Profiles